Chinese Deities – The Four Gods


The Four Gods are the central figures of Chinese geomancy and astrology. Later, this system was introduced to Korea and Japan, where it was absorbed into Onmyodo mysticism. According to the system, the universe is divided into 28 star houses, or quadrants, and each is ruled by one of the Gods. The original Chinese version included an additional divine beast, Huanglong, who represents the Earth element.

  1. Guandi
  2. Genbu Xuan Wu
  3. Xuan Wu Da Di


Guandi is one of the most popular deities in Chinese folk religion. He is based on a third-century military hero and is revered for his loyalty and trustworthiness. His story is often retold in the popular Chinese folktale “The Three Brothers of the Peach Orchard.”

Guandi is also a patron of sailors. His original name was Tara and she was a bodhisattva of compassion and wisdom. She was also the feminine counterpart to Avalokitesvara. She first came to China via trade along the Silk Road during the Han Dynasty. She took on the form of a maiden named Miaoshan, whose father had wanted her to marry a wealthy priest.

His role in Chinese mythology was to save the world and heal its people. During the Jin Dynasty, Guandi played a major role in human affairs. He saved people from disease and saved their lives. As a result, he was revered by the Jade Emperor, who enfeoffeted him by awarding him the Wenchang Governorship.

In addition to being the patron of fishermen, Guandi is also the wife of the god Mugong. Her husband is the Lord of the Spirits, who watches over the male spirits in Donghua. The four deities are often portrayed in a similar way, with one being the wife of another.

The four Chinese deities are based on four principle. They each have their own characteristics, and are based on ancient beliefs. The four deities, together, have great influence over the Chinese society. The four deities are also the creators of life. However, they are very different in terms of their appearance and purpose.

Guandi is the patron of war and prosperity. His name was originally Guan Ti, and the Chinese call him “Guan”. He is also the patron of bean curd sellers. His popularity soared during the Three Kingdoms period. His fame continued to rise, and he was canonized by a Ming dynasty emperor in 1594. As a result, hundreds of temples were built in his honor, and worship began. The deity was a favorite of soldiers and was also chosen as the patron of numerous trades and professions.

Genbu Xuan Wu

Genbu Xuan Wu is regarded as a powerful deity in ancient China, and he is also a guardian spirit in Kyoto. His shrine is located on Mt. Funaoka in Kyoto, and his name is identical to that of the Taoist god Xuanwu, who is often depicted with snakes and turtles. Turtles have long been associated with ancient Chinese culture, and turtle-shaped jade pendants were popular in Han dynasty Japan.

Genbu is also associated with the forces of darkness and shadow. In ancient China, Genbu was worshipped as the moon god and the god of the north. The tortoise shell he holds represents the earth, sky and water, and he is a protector of the north. Tortoise shells were often used as divination tools in the ancient Chinese culture.

Genbu Xuan Wu is one of the Four Symbols of Chinese culture. It is often depicted with snake-like tail. His role is to protect the north and the winter season. Although the name Xuan Wu means “Black Warrior”, it is not a common term in Chinese or East Asian languages.

Genbu Xuan Wu is an important deity in Chinese culture. He was once a king of the north. He had two generals under him, and his temple is in the Wudang Mountains, which is near Wuhan, Hubei’s capital city. He studied Taoism when he was young, and eventually became the patron god of the north.

Genbu is also a popular deity in Japanese anime, and his powers have been translated into Japanese as the “Emperor of Thunder”. In the anime, he is known as the “White Tiger” or “Suzuku”. His power is derived from the white tiger.

In Chinese mythology, Genbu Xuan Wu is one of four deities. He was once human, but he became immortal and accompanied by two demon generals. In order to achieve divine ascension, he had to purify his body. He also removed his own organs in order to achieve his divine status. Afterward, he used these organs to create two demon generals. These demons terrorized the local population.

Xuan Wu Da Di

Xuan Wu was a prince of the Jing Le State in northern Hebei in the time of the Yellow Emperor. He felt the pain and sorrow of the common people and wanted to retire to a mountain for cultivation of the Tao. He had killed many animals unremorsefully in his past but repented by giving up his butchery. Eventually, he retired to a mountain and cultivated the Tao.

The tortoise’s shell is similar to a warrior’s shield, which is one reason why turtle-based insults aren’t meant to mock those with questionable fighting skills. While the term “Xuanwu” omits the word “martial”, it can also mean “turtle.” Other instances refer to the tortoise as a chimera.

According to the Chinese zodiac, the Xuan Wu Da Di is associated with the five elements, the four seasons, and the compass directions. According to the Chinese zodiac, each direction is guarded by a four-element creature. The four compass directions are named after these four creatures, each of which has its own virtue and element. Each quadrant contains seven constellations, each of which represents one of the four elements. The fifth direction represents China.

Rate article
Chinese Deities – The Four Gods
Goats No 2 – Frejya and Freyr’s Adventures